Lakota Educator of Excellence nominations due 9/4

Posted on: July 28, 2020


The Community Foundation of West Chester/Liberty, in partnership with Lakota Local Schools, is currently accepting nominations for the 2020 Lakota Educator of Excellence Awards. The nomination deadline, traditionally in the spring, has been delayed until September 4th due to the current health crisis.

“Surprising recipients with the award in front of their students and colleagues is the best part of this process. We hope we will be able to continue with that tradition by extending the deadline to the fall,” says Erin Clemons, Community Foundation president & CEO. “During this challenging time of distance learning, we are especially grateful for our Lakota educators who have stepped up and adapted to ensure their students are still getting a quality education.”

The award is made possible through generous sponsorship from Phelan Insurance Agency. Two monetary awards will be presented: one to a recipient from the elementary level (PreK-6) and another from the secondary level (7-12). The winners will receive a $1,000 grant to be used for a special project at their school. The third, non-monetary award, will be presented to a Lakota administrator who has shown extraordinary commitment to the students and teachers of Lakota Local Schools as well as the community.

The Lakota Educator of Excellence Award was established in 2007 to recognize educators in the Lakota School District who demonstrate consistency and high commitment to students. These individuals motivate, share ideas, inspire, support, create, and go above and beyond to make a difference in the community.

Outstanding educators can be nominated to receive this honor by students, colleagues, parents or any community member who wishes to acknowledge an educator’s exceptional effort. Nominations are not limited to classroom teachers. Award recipients may be any person (teacher, administrator, counselor, support staff, etc.) working with young people in the Lakota School District. Winners are chosen by a committee of representatives from Lakota Local Schools and the Community Foundation

2010 Audrey Stamp
2011 Shannon Henderson, Linda Abbott
2012 Jenny Hayes, Tim Shaffer
2013 Amy Smith, Dean Hume
2014 Judith Ebbing, Aaron Nunley
2015 Lauri MacNeel, Greg Clark
2016 Tracy Kornau, Jeff Rouff, Todd Caulfield
2017 Cindy Sorrel, Jennifer Akers
2018 Jennifer Parrett, Kristin Sellers, Eunice Vogelsand, John McCutchen
2019 Audrey Young, Jennifer Dietsch, Andrea Blevins